Recovery Journal Introduction

When the doctor told me that I may not be able to pull my bow back by deer season, I honestly laughed.  I wouldn’t let it show but the thought of not being able to bow hunt this fall made me want to throw the chairs in his office.  There are very few things that actually make me angry, telling me I cant hunt is one of them  Realistically, I  intend to work my self back into shape to at least pull 45 pounds by August.    I’ll lower my poundage for a season have full confidence that my Switchback, Beman arrows and Montecs will have no problem taking down a whitetail.     Mental tenacity, extra work outs, and healthy  nutrition.   Not a day off beginning June 5th after the operation.  My insiration and confidence to  be able to get bow hunt this fall comes from my father.  January 2006 my father had major back surgery, fusing two spinal disks together. Not being able to stay still, he started his physical therapy early.  At three weeks post surgery, he was  up walking again and back to work.   At his seven month check up, the doctor told  him he  was making the recovering strides of a person who had the surgery  over a year and  a half earlier.  Nine months post surgery, Dad arrowed his first bull elk in the moutnains of Oregon, and yes he packed out the meat on his back. Dad was in his early 40s then and I am only 20 and dealing with a much smaller issue.  Last time I heard from the docs, the  tear is very small only 2mm meaning less stitches and less recovery time (hopefully).   I have the fire in my gut that is ready to start getting back  in form now.  I refuse to let this keep me down.

In addition to keeping a written account of this recovery process, I have teamed up with a good friend and Executive Producer to make a film documenting  the recovery all the way through deer season.

Proving the doctors wrong one day at a time.

Where Eagles Dare,PWL,

Jason

Categories: Recovery Journal | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Recovery Journal Introduction

  1. GB & GS

    Knowing you as I do, Jason you will do it, Phil:13 GB

  2. Awesome! That fire in your gut will serve you well. Here’s hoping for a speedy recovery.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.